The 7 Deadly Sins according to the bible

The seven deadly sins refer to the desires or vices of the human being, which were classified according to ancient moral teachings of Christianity. For Saint Thomas Aquinas the meaning of the word "capital" was oriented to the fact that these vices originated other sins and had no relation to importance.

These capital vices have a peculiarity, and it is that for man they are exaggeratedly desirable. And as a consequence of this great desire, the person commits innumerable sins.

In other words, the compulsive desire for the deadly sins makes the person seek to satisfy it in any way and at any price, which leads to the execution of others to achieve it.

The 7 Deadly Sins according to the bible 1

Are these seven sins in the Bible?

These seven sins capital do not appear as such in the the Bible. There is no precise description or listing of them in the Bible. However, it does make reference to them in some of its chapters.

The list of these sins was made for the first time in the middle of the 6th century, by the Roman Pope Gregory the Great. Later, St. Thomas Aquinas gave them order and numbering.

The importance of these 7 sinsThe question of sin lies in how it affects the personal relationship with God. For in sinning, all communion with God is broken, as a consequence the Holy Spirit and is saddened and goes away in silence. Therefore if you wish to live eternity in the presence of God you must repent with all your heart.

What are these seven sins?

The deadly sins are the following: lust, gluttony, greed, sloth, anger, envy and pride.


Lust is considered as those impure thoughts that come from excessive sexual impulses, uncontrolled or disordered sexual desire. They are also part of this sin adultery and rape. Thus reflecting the lack of the sixth and ninth commandments.

Lust causes the spirit to become blind, the heart to become hardened, the duties as practicing Christians to be abhorred. Thus impairing the health and the beautiful virtues of the soul, such as the capacity to love.

Chastity is the virtue opposed to Lust (1 Cor. 6, 9), it represents the mastery of sexuality through the use of reason and helps respect both personal and others. In other words, it means the integration of sexuality in the person. It is also part of the cardinal virtue known as temperance, which imbues the passions and the appetite of human sensibility with reason.


Gluttony is a sin characterized by the consumption of drinks and food without measure. That is to say, it is the maximum expression of gluttony. In other words, it is the vice of eating voraciously, or irrationally, bringing the person serious physical and social consequences.

It is also related to anxiety. That somatizes the selfishness, present in interpersonal relationships, by means of this consumption in excess. Being destructive behavior, like that of a person who gets drunk until he loses his mind. thank you to the excess of alcoholic beverages.

This irrational and unnecessary excess. It is carried out only to give pleasure and satisfaction to sensuality. St. Paul defines these people as Idolaters, and at the same time says that they make of their stomach a God. The virtue that opposes gluttony is "Moderation" (2 Peter 1, 5-8).


It is love excessive and obsessive for material goods, especially for the money. The avaricious person does not care about the means he uses to obtain, conserve or increase his wealth, he does not care whether it is in a licit or illicit way.

Greed makes people become hard and indifferent to the needy, they do not care whether they gain or lose the goods of heaven, and it often incites them to want to take possession of the goods of others. The opposite virtue to Greed is Goodness (Gl. 5, 22 - 24).

You should thank God for all that He provides for you daily, He gives you everything you need, thank God at all times for the provisions He gives you. For greed increases beyond measure when God is out of the heart.


Laziness is the mother of all vices, is characterized by the inability of the person to take charge of his own existence. There are two kinds of laziness, spiritual and temporal.

Through laziness or acidity, the individual neglects his own care and in the same way loses care of the love that is due to God. Bringing with it listlessness, sadness and loneliness.

This sin is based on the immaturity and inability of the individual to accept or do anything. At the slightest obstacle or difficulty that comes his way, he gives in to it.

The virtue that opposes Sloth is Diligence (Prov. 6, 6 - 12) which drives you to accomplish with great enthusiasm and accuracy all your duties.


Anger is characterized by an excessive and uncontrolled feeling resulting from rage and anger. It leads to denial of one's own reality, discrimination, lack of patience and even to enforcing one's own justice without waiting for legal regulations.

The disordered movement of the soul caused by anger, impels the individual to reject in a violent way that which is not agreeable to him. The causes that generally originate this sin are: pride and obstinate attachment to one's own ideas. This leads to commit blasphemy against the name of God, to seek revenge on others, to hurt, wound and in extreme cases even kill. Attempting against the dignity and honor of others.

The virtue that opposes anger is patience (2 Tim. 3:10).


Envy is characterized by the feeling of regret for the success or good of others. This sin is not simply a matter of desiring what another person has, but also of allowing oneself to be dominated by the desire that the other person should not have any good. In other words, envy is a vice that motivates the desire for the evil of others. Sometimes becoming obsessive disorders.

Envy is strongly opposed to the love of one's neighbor and makes the individual a slave to it. It is a torment, a constant torment that destroys the heart.

Envy is the mother of a great number of sins; such as unjust suspicions, slander, slander, slander, discord, hatred and even murder.

The virtue that opposes envy is Charity (1 Chr. 9, 24 - 27) which helps to take the sorrows and joys of another individual as one's own.


It is the overflowing and disordered esteem one has of oneself, causing the individual to consider himself superior to others and therefore seeks to elevate himself above them. In other words, it is the uncontrolled appreciation of his own value, which makes him important and attractive to others. It is considered one of the most serious sins.

This sin is based on that uncontrolled desire to always want to be better than others. Both physically and intellectually. Being the result of overvaluing oneself as a person. One form of pride is narcissism or vanity.

The virtue that opposes pride is Humility, which helps you to realize and accept that nothing belongs to you more than the works of the spirit.

This website uses cookies to give you the best user experience. If you continue browsing you are giving your consent to the acceptance of the aforementioned cookies and acceptance of our. cookies policy

Cookie Notice