How many books are in the contemporary King James Bible?

For many years the versions of the Bible in Spanish were translations of the Vulgate Bible of St. Jerome of Stridon, the version used by Catholics. Until 1569, when Queen's casidioroa Spanish Catholic monk converted to Protestantism, proceeded to make a new translation into Spanish, no longer from the Vulgate but from the original texts, such as the Masoteric text for the Old Testament and the Textus Receptus for the New Testament.

This translation in its first edition was known as the Bear Bible, because of the diagramming of its cover which had the representation of a bear. Subsequently, the work done by Casidioro de Reina was revised, in 1602 by Cipriano de ValeraThis is the reason why this translation has been recognized as a Bible since that time. Reina Valera.

This Bible was widely distributed in the sixteenth century, during the Reform ProtestantIt is widely used by Spanish-speaking Protestants, specifically by the Christian churches that originated from the Reformation, as well as by other churches such as the Seventh-day Adventists; organizations that for more than four centuries used it as the only Bible and it has been subject to revisions in 1862, 1909, 1960, 1995, 1999, 2006, 2011 and 2015.

How many books does the contemporary King James Bible have? 1

Which version is this so-called contemporary Reina Valera?

The edition published in 2011 is known as the Reina Valera Contemporary BibleThe revision was under the responsibility of the Revision and Translation Committee of the United Bible Societies.

The Committee used the Biblia Hebraica Stuttgartensia for the Old Testament and the Textus Receptus for the New Testament as the basis for its revision.

Books of the Contemporary King James Bible

The contemporary edition, like the 1960 edition, consists of 66 books. Of these 39 make up the Old Testament; while 27 correspond to the New Testament.

Old Testament

It consists of the following books: GenesisExodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy, JoshuaJudges, Judges, Ruth, 1 Samuel, 2 Samuel, 1 Kings, 2 Kings, 1 Chronicles, 2 Chronicles, Ezra, Nehemiah, Esther, Job, PsalmsProverbs, Ecclesiastes, Song of Solomon, Song of Solomon, Isaiah, Jeremiah, Lamentations, Ezekiel, Daniel, Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah and Malachi.

As in Bibles accepted and followed by other churches, the contemporary Reina Valera groups the books according to the general characteristics of the subjects to which each one of them refers. These groups are: the Pentateuchthe Historical booksThe Poetical books, the books of the Major Prophets and the books of the Minor Prophets.

The Pentateuch

It begins by narrating the creation of the world and of man, referring later to the time of slavery that the Jews suffered at the hands of the Egyptians, emphasizing the manifestations to God by the Jewish people. This section includes the books: Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy.

Historical Books

They refer to the actions of men chosen by God to lead the people of Israel to the conquest of the Promised Land, an activity that took place over a long period of time in the midst of battles with consecutive victories and defeats as a result, either of the obedienceor disobedience to God, respectively. This group is formed by the books: Joshua, Judges, RutI Samuel, II Samuel, I Kings, II Kings, I Chronicles, II Chronicles, Ezra and Nehemiah.

Poetic and Sapiential Books

They are books with expressions of love and kindness, which with beautiful words express God's desire that the people love and serve Him, demonstrating the presence of a merciful, faithful and just God towards a disobedient people. Part of this section are the books: Esther, Job, Psalms, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes and Song of Solomon.

The Books of the Major Prophets

It includes all the orders and commands that God, through men chosen by Him, sent to the chosen people. These men were to indicate to the Israelites when they were disobeying God, at the same time they served as intermediaries between the people and God. In this section are the books: Isaiah, Jeremiah, Lamentations, Ezekiel and Daniel.

The Books of the Minor Prophets

It refers to men also selected by God among the Jewish people to inform the population about God's will and to let them know his purposes, trying to make them obey the divine laws; however, they frequently encountered the manifest disobedience of the people. This group includes the books: Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah and Malachi.

New Testament

It is made up of the books: Matthew, Mark, Luke, John, Acts, Romans, 1 Corinthians, 2 Corinthians, Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians, 1 Thessalonians, 2 Thessalonians, 1 Timothy, 2 Timothy, Titus, Philemon, Hebrews, James, 1 Peter, 2 Peter, 1 John, 2 John, 3 John, Judas y Apocalypse.

The New Testament is also subdivided into several sections, such as: the Gospels, the Book of Acts, the Epistles of Paul, the Universal Epistles and the Book of Revelation.

The Gospels

They narrate the life of Jesusemphasizing the teachings that He transmitted to the population. It includes the gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke and John,

The Book of the Acts of the Apostles

It constitutes a section by itself. Paul's EpistlesThe books of the Apostle Paul, an apostle and disciple of Jesus, are a series of writings written by Paul. Through them, and addressing various gentiles, Paul brings the word of God to the people. It consists of the following books: Epistle to the Romans, Epistle I to the Corinthians, Epistle II to the Corinthians, Epistle to the Galatians, Epistle to the Ephesians, Epistle to the Philippians, Epistle to the Colossians, Epistle I to the Thessalonians, Epistle II to the Thessalonians, Epistle I to Timothy, Epistle II to Timothy, Epistle to Titus, Epistle to Philemon and Epistle to the Hebrews.

The Universal Epistles

Also written by disciples of Jesus, also with the objective of making known the Divine Word and the teachings that Jesus had given them. Here are grouped the Epistles of James, the Epistles I and II of Peter, the Epistles I, II and III of John and the Epistle of Jude.

The Book of Revelations

It refers to the events that are to take place prior to the new coming of Jesus to Earth and are contained in the book called Revelation.

The contemporary Reina Valera Bible uses a language more in line with the Spanish used in Latin America and offers a more updated syntax and tries to make the expressions easier to understand for the reader who is not specialized in biblical subjects.

This website uses cookies to give you the best user experience. If you continue browsing you are giving your consent to the acceptance of the aforementioned cookies and acceptance of our. cookies policy

Cookie Notice