How many books does the King James Bible have and what are they?

The sacred text known as the Reina Valera Bible is the first edition made in the Spanish language based on the original languages of the biblical texts and not from Latin, as other previous versions. This translation was made by the monk Casiodoro de Reina of Spanish origin, converted to Protestantism, who worked for twelve years on this work. The definitive text was printed in 1569 and was revised in 1602 by Cipriano de Valera.

From the first original version, this bible is recognized as a the bible The bear is illustrated in the original version, which was the logo of the Bavarian printer Mattias Apiarius, to avoid the use of religious icons. The translated text was printed on September 28, 1569, in Switzerland, specifically in the city of Basel. Its translation was made from biblical writings written in the original languages: Hebrew, Aramaic and Greek. For the translation of the Old Testament the author used the Hebrew Masoretic writings, the Veteris et Novi Testamenti nova translatio of Sanctes Pagnino and the Ferrara Bible. For the writing of the New Testament the Receptus Text and Greek manuscripts were used.

The translation of the Bible by the Spanish monk Casiodoro de Reina is considered to be one of the most beautiful written texts of the Spanish language of the so-called Golden Century.. Over the years there have been several revisions and updates of the original text: 1602 (Cantaro Bible), 1862, 1865, 1909, 1960, 1977, 1995 and 2011.

How many books does the Reina Valera Bible have?

The collection of sacred books known as the Reina Valera Bible in its first two editions: the Bear Bible and the Song of Solomon Bible, contained 73 books  The same as the Latin Vulgate Bible of St. Jerome of Estridon, the official sacred text of Catholicism; but in the revision of Cyprian of Valera, known as the version of the Canticle, the seven deuterocanonical books that were at the end were changed to a separate section of the Old Testament, thus differentiating it from the Catholic Bible. After 1862, due to revisions made by the Protestant churches, the deuterocanonical books were eliminated following the Palestinian Hebrew precept or Tanach.

Currently the Reina Valera version of the biblical text is composed by 66 Booksof which 39 books correspond to the Old Testament y 27 books at New Testament.

How many books does the Reina Valera Bible have and which ones are they? 1

Books of the Old Testament of the Reina Valera Bible

The first covenant of God with man is known as the books of the Old Testament, which narrates the origin of the world, of man, and relates the different historical stages of the Israelites before the coming of the Messiah, i.e. the birth of Jesus Christ. It is composed of the Pentateuchthe historical booksThe Pentateuch is composed of biblical, sapiential and prophetic texts. The Pentateuch is composed of the biblical texts: GenesisExodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy.

The sacred books of the Old Testament are 39 and include:

  • Genesis
  • Exodus
  • Leviticus
  • Numbers
  • Deuteronomy
  • The Historical Books are twelve (12)
  • Joshua
  • Judges
  • Rut
  • 1 Samuel
  • 2 Samuel
  • 1 of Kings
  • 2 Kings
  • 1 of Chronicles
  • 2 of Chronicles
  • Ezra
  • Nehemiah
  • The Poetic Books are six (6)
  • Ester
  • Job
  • Psalms
  • Proverbs
  • Ecclesiastes
  • Cantares
  • Books of the Major Prophets
  • Isaiah
  • Jeremiah
  • Regrets
  • Ezekiel
  • Daniel
  • The Books of the Minor Prophets
  • Hosea
  • Joel
  • Amos
  • Obadiah
  • Jonah
  • Micah
  • Nahum
  • Habakkuk
  • Zephaniah
  • Haggai
  • Zacarias
  • Malachi

The New Testament Books of the Reina Valera Bible

The New Testament is the second part of the bible which contains books and letters describing the teachings and experiences of Jesus and the foundations of Christianity.

The Reina Valera religious text or bible is composed of 27 books: The Gospels, written by apostles who accompanied Jesus, the book of Acts, which explains the historical development of the religion, and the book of the Gospels, written by the apostles who accompanied Jesus. ChristianPaul's letters and those of other apostles, and the book of Revelation, or Apocalypse.

There are four gospels:

  • Matthew
  • Marcos
  • Lucas
  • John

The Acts of the Apostles

  • Romans
  • 1 Corinthians
  • 2 Corinthians
  • Galatians
  • Ephesians
  • Philippians
  • Colossians
  • 1 Thessalonians
  • 2 of Thessalonians
  • 1 Timothy
  • 2 Timothy
  • Tito
  • Filemon
  • Hebrews
  • Santiago
  • 1 Peter
  • 2 of Peter
  • 1 of John
  • 2 of John
  • 3 of John
  • Judas
  • Apocalypse


The Spanish translation made by the Spanish monk Casiodoro de Reina converted to Protestantism and revised by Cipriano de Valera is considered one of the most reliable versions of the Holy Scriptures, being its composition one of the most beautiful and relevant religious texts of the well-known Spanish Golden Age.

It is a Protestant bible that contains 66 books distributed as follows: in the Old Testament there are 39 biblical texts and the New Testament is composed of 27 books. The Reina Valera Bible text is today one of the most widely used and accepted bibles by the different Protestant churches. It has been revised several times to adapt it to new times without losing its original beauty.

This website uses cookies to give you the best user experience. If you continue browsing you are giving your consent to the acceptance of the aforementioned cookies and acceptance of our. cookies policy

Cookie Notice